Skip to content ↓
Fern Hill Primary School

Fern Hill Primary School


Fern Hill Curriculum Rationale


 Our Curriculum has been designed with the intention to develop the whole child and to inspire and instil a thirst for knowledge and an enduring love of learning in each and every pupil. It aims to ensure excellence and success in all aspects of school life in order to drive future ambitions.

It is personalised to the needs of the pupils at Fern Hill, not only by focussing on appropriate subject specific knowledge, skills and understanding that will allow all to excel, but by modelling our core values of inspiration, collaboration, empathy and excellence; providing child-led learning experiences and developing a growth mindset to align aspirations and provide opportunities for all of our wonderfully diverse community.

All pupils from the age of five are taught all subjects covered in the national curriculum; the content of which has been sequenced to ensure pupils acquire, master and connect long-lasting knowledge. Reading is viewed throughout the school as the key to unlocking all of these subjects for our children and is therefore prioritised. 

Through quality teaching of knowledge, skills and vocabulary across core and foundation subjects, all children will be challenged and equipped with the skills needed to be resilient, reflective and resourceful learners in future learning and in life.  They will have opportunities to lead their own learning through progressive and challenging lesson sequences. Learning experiences will promote the moral, social, cultural, mental and physical development of our children and nurture them into empathetic, responsible and respectful citizens with their own voice.  

As a result, our children will learn more, remember more and enjoy more. They will be self-sufficient and resilient problem solvers, skillful collaborators and creative and imaginative learners. They will be socially confident, aware and responsible citizens who demonstrate tolerance and empathy towards others. 

In short, they will have a confident set of skills, knowledge and values which will result in them being ambitious for themselves and others. Thus inspiring them to seek further learning opportunities in the next stage in education and beyond. 

The National Curriculum

The National Curriculum is divided into four stages for the different ages known as ‘Key Stages’. In primary school the first three of these are taught, as follows:

  • Foundation Stage/Early Years (EYFS) – Nursery and Reception
  • Key Stage 1 - Years 1 & 2 (5 – 7 years old)
  • Key Stage 2 - Years 3 - 6 (7 – 11 years old)

You can find out more about the content of the National Curriculum here on the Department for Education website. You can find out more about the subjects taught at Fern Hill by clicking on the tabs opposite. 

Inspiration Collaboration Empathy Excellence