Skip to content ↓
Fern Hill Primary School

Fern Hill Primary School


Curriculum Overview

At Fern Hill we follow the requirements of the National Curriculum. This helps us to provide a balanced and appropriately challenging education for all children.

In our school we aim to deliver the National Curriculum in a way that will promote the moral, cultural, mental and physical development of the children, in order to prepare them for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of Secondary school and adult life.

All pupils from the age of five are taught the core curriculum subjects English, Mathematics and Science, as well as the foundation subjects History and Geography, Technology, Art, Modern Languages, Music, Physical Education, Computing, together with Religious Education and Sex Education.

The National Curriculum is divided into four stages for the different ages known as ‘key stages’. In primary school the first three of these are taught, as follows:

  • Foundation Stage/Early Years – Nursery and Reception
  • Key Stage 1: 5 – 7 years
  • Key Stage 2: 7 – 11 years

Through carefully planned topic work, the requirements of the National Curriculum are completely covered. The children will also work on supplementary topics chosen by the teacher. The use of topics allows other important areas to be covered such as Multi-Cultural education, Equal Opportunities, Environmental Awareness and aspects of Citizenship.

In addition to the core subjects of English, Maths and Science, we follow the government schemes of work for the foundation subjects. The foundation subjects taught at both Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 are History, Geography, Technology, Art, Music, Physical Education, Computing, together with Religious Education and Sex Education. Many aspects of these curriculum areas are covered through cross curricular topic work. A brief outline of each of these subject areas can be found by clicking on the tabs.

A variety of teaching styles are used to ensure that each child works to his or her full capability. Thus they will sometimes work as individuals, sometimes in groups and at other times whole class work will be the most appropriate method.

The children’s progress is assessed continually over the 8 years from Nursery, through to Key Stage 1 & 2 with a more formal assessment towards the end of Year 2 and Year 6 to establish the level at which each child is working.

Our overriding aim is to make our school a happy place where learning takes place in a relaxed, caring manner. We believe that pressurising young children only impedes their progress. They will all reach their full potential given time appropriate learning opportunities and encouragement.

Inspiration Collaboration Empathy Excellence